Word of the day – Hemerophile

Part 6 of the Spooky black birds of SoHo series, for my #AnimalMOOC Field Notes.

I learnt the word “hemerophile” from this other entertaining #AnimalMOOC corvids blog today.

Animals that are hemerophiles benefit from living within the cultural landscapes that humans have created.  Ravens certainly fall into this category.  Whether it’s raiding our fruit trees, eating our unwatched sandwiches, or cleaning up after our BBQ’s, they are more than happy to take advantage of humanity’s generosity when it comes to incidental food provision.  Today’s raven falls squarely within the hemerophile definition, cleaning up something slightly gorier than your average sandwich.

Yesterday morning in SoHo, it was proper wet.  After a misty start to the morning, the rain began in earnest, slamming down on the deck, grass and trees in a way which made me rather reticent to leave the house to hunt ravens.  Luckily, this time I didn’t have to.

IMG_5276

During a brief, sunny period, an adult raven alighted on the grass at the end of my driveway (conveniently visible from my bedroom), and appeared to start tearing a piece of local marsupial to bits.  I snatched my binoculars, and propped up on the window sill to watch it.

IMG_5277

At first, I thought the raven had acquired the leg of some kind of marsupial, probably a pademelon by the size of it, which it had firmly pinned under its foot.  There are a lot of pademelons around here, and unfortunately, they are often victims of late night drivers.

Most of the fur seemed to still be intact, but the bird was busily removing it, and stripping bits of flesh and sinew from underneath.  I took some crappy photos with my phone, and then did what I assume the professionals do – sent someone else out with a real camera to take some better pics.  The photos below are courtesy of my partner (who informs me that he was using an inappropriate lens for the job).

Ravens (1 of 1)-2

Closer inspection revealed that it was not actually roadkill that the raven was eating, but the body of the very large rat my partner had caught in our backyard trap, and then thrown into the bush.  Happily for the raven, it had found the body of the rodent duck food thief, and was making a rather gory meal of it.

 


Ravens (1 of 1)-3
Unfortunately, the raven was not pleased with my partner’s paparazzo efforts, and after only a moment or two, picked up its dead rodent and flew away.  Not before we got a few, slightly-better-than-average photos of it though!

Ravens (1 of 1)

Leave a Reply

